What is the Gospel?

So, obviously at a Bible college, theology and doctrine will be discussed.  If not … there might be a slight problem.  Anyways, here at EBC I’ve been wading through some different theological questions and views as they have been presented.  One that keeps popping up is the Gospel.  We were asked to define this in class one day, and a variety of answers were given (most were essentially the same).  BUT … there was one answer that was given .. and now I’m hearing it floating around more and more.  I just heard someone teach on this yesterday, and they were supporting why they thought this one view was indeed the Gospel message.  I thought through the things he said, and went back and examined scripture myself and came up with my own conclusion (though I’m not yet done processing it in it’s entirety).  

Now I am going to ask a gnarly  question … and who knows what will happen (if anything .. does anyone even read this anymore?) … but the question is What is the Gospel?  Scriptural support would be greatly desired.

If I get some responses, I’ll come back and give the one view I spoke of as well as why I believe it is not that, and what I actually believe it is and why.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thejambi
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 12:57:55

    I read it, I read it!

    If I get time, I’ll try and give an answer.

    Reply

  2. Raquel TWG
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 13:49:04

    Wow. Defining the Gospel is a hard thing. I could probably write forever about it and never run out of things to say.

    I’m in computer class though, with like 42 minutes left so I may get back to you in a couple minutes ;]

    Reply

  3. Alymc
    Oct 18, 2008 @ 16:24:09

    1 Corinthians 15-
    1 Now I would remind you, brothers, [1] of the gospel I preached to you, which you received, in which you stand, 2 and by which you are being saved, if you hold fast to the word I preached to you—unless you believed in vain.

    3 For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, 4 that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures

    Reply

  4. Raquel TWG
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 14:02:13

    Happy happy birthday!
    Only one more year until the big 2-0 😀

    I would Facebook you but I’m at school. Hehe.

    Reply

  5. SGRWebster
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 19:12:28

    Jesus Christ’s own proclamation, that He was, in Himself, by the nature of His birth, the quality of His life, and the efficacy of His death, reconciling sinners to God. Those who place their faith in Him are reconciled to God, and serve as ministers of reconciliation to the world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

