Living Everyday Fixed on Eternity

It’s been a while since I last posted, and I realize my last post was not sufficient to answer the questions of those who have been inquiring for the past two weeks.  I have been exceptionally  busy, but it has generally been a good busy.  I say “generally” because I have been able to be in community with the believers here everyday which has been awesome, but it has also revealed some selfish motives.  In my Intro to Discipleship Counseling class we have been talking about how our relationships should be intentional.  I would be the first to admit that many of my relationships, even here have not been intentional.  In fact, I have realized that my shortcomings in one of my relationships here the other day actually served as a misrepresentation of my Jesus, which upset me to the highest degree.  Not only was I unkind, un-bearing, and short with this person, but the love and grace (or lack of love and grace) I showed him was certainly not the love I have received.  

One thing that I have been super surprised about, is how quickly this place has become normal (dare I say comfortable) .  It has been a lot easier than I had expected.  I don’t know what reason I have to be surprised … I believe that God has indeed lead me here … I prayed that He would be my source of strength … I have been surrounded by an awesome community of Christ followers … not to mention I have been so loaded down with schoolwork (of the most awesome kind)  … and I just started my first job in Simi Valley today.  I’m currently typing this with a bunch of people sitting in my apartment, who came over for dinner and stuff, and am feeling like I should do some homework, but am convinced that I would be totally rude if I did that.  So, I won’t, and hope that it will get done sometime this weekend while I am not working or in some kind of social engagement.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thejambi
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 18:09:35

    Sounds like it’s going well. Makes me smile.

    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

