First Week At EBC

I just wanted to write a quick update of my first week here in hot scorching Simi Valley, California.  It has been a crazy week.  I moved into an apartment with three other girls that are attending EBC.  It was kind of a scary situation to be going into, but God has blessed me tremendously with three amazing room-mates and I am so stoked that I am with these particular girls. Having class in a strip-mall is certainly an experience, but I don’t even think about that when I am sitting in class hearing piercing truth. As far as the academic side of things …  I definitely got “syllabus shock”.  After thinking and praying through some things, I have decided to drop a class this semester so that I can focus on what I am learning and really get the most out of it and in turn, hopefully it will have a deeper impact on my life.  

On the other side of academics(the practical/application side), God has completely humbled me, even just sitting through the first class.  I realize that I don’t know nearly what I thought I did.  I know so very little about God, and the concept of “just scratching the surface” as Mr. Webster would always say, is ringing more true to me now than ever.  I am so excited for each class and know that I will enjoy each one I am taking.

My trust in God is certainly faulty, but He has proved Himself faithful once again.  Certainly in many ways throughout this week, but one in particular comes to mind at the moment.  I had an interview yesterday and found out at the end that they wanted to give me the job.  The hours they want to give me aren’t going to be enough as I can see, but I am trusting that God will continue to provide even if that means getting a second job or expending all of my savings until I get a job with more hours.  

All this to say that God is certainly in the process of breaking me down.  I have had a plethora of emotions this week, and have at times even felt far from God.  It’s so strange and I’m not sure what’s going on, but I know that I am in a good place and surrounded by an amazing community of Christ followers.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandacatherine
    Aug 29, 2008 @ 17:31:13

    it’s awesome to hear an update. it sounds like you’re experiencing and learning some awesome things. i’m praying!

    Reply

  2. thejambi
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 00:51:31

    ! 🙂

    Thanks for the update, Aly!

    Reply

  3. molly
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 22:53:15

    So i leave tomorrow and LOVED reading your last 2 posts… I know tom. is gonna be ridiculous, but i love how you are living out trusting God in new experiences. It encourages me a TON and know that i will be a regular on your blog and continue to pray for u lots. I love you!!!

    Reply

  4. anon4him
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 23:00:04

    God is good 🙂 I’m glad that you’re continuing to learn about him daily!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

