Burn The Fleet

Oddly, or maybe not so oddly, I thought of this song today in church. My pastor, Kelly, was talking about the Christians living in Rome in AD 65 and different reasons why they were labeled “revolutionaries” and of their uncompromising lives. They stood against their culture and were tortured and killed as a result.

I started to think about my faith and how as I’ve grown and matured there are still areas that remain where I choose to compromise. They may not be huge things, but in the end a compromise is a compromise. As I’ve been reading different books (ranging from “Do Hard Things” to the Bible) my spirit has been stirred to challenge my ideals. In what ways do I “go with the flow” so to speak in today’s culture? In what areas do I accept (or even ignore) the ways of our culture that don’t line up with what the Bible says.
As I am typing I think of Colossians 3:1-3 where Paul says “If then you have been raised with Christ, seek the things that are above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.”
There are some things I do that aren’t beneficial. There are things I watch read and listen to that are widely accepted by the Christian church, but are things that do not set my mind on things above, but rather distract my mind from things above. There are times when I know I could be doing something else that would bring more honor and praise to my Father.

I guess I want to end this with the song by Thrice and with a challenge … not only to my generation, to the teens that read this blog, but to the adults as well (I don’t know who all reads this, but the stats show quite a bit more than those who comment). Start doing the hard things. Challenge yourself (as I challenge myself) to see if the things you do are setting your mind on things above. It might cost you … it might bring insults and persecution, but it is what God asks of you and I as followers of Jesus.

This is “Burn The Fleet” by Thrice

   Lyrics

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. molly
    Aug 11, 2008 @ 20:37:11

    i just bought this song on itunes… i think it will make a lovely song for my plane ride to the Philippines… sorry we have not gotten together lately, i have been outta town. When do u want to do coffee?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

