One Month

Well, today is the day.  A month from today I will be on my way to California.  The past month has been a crazy time … a stressful time.  I’ve been incredibly overwhelmed, excited, sad and oddly enough .. homesick.  I’ve had this homesick feeling and I’M STILL AT HOME.  I’ve been thinking about how on earth I will possibly make it in California, both financially and physically/mentally.  Honestly, I won’t be able to … not without divine intervention.   Whenever I think about leaving home I feel sick and want to cry (my eyes are welling as I type this).  I’m going to need to find a job like as soon as I get out there .. which IS possible ( I applied online for a job and got a call yesterday, and was told to stop in once I get out there).  I think the hardest thing for me will be leaving my mama.  Haha … that sounds pretty stupid I’m sure, but she has been there consistently for me to comfort, encourage and guide me.  And I’m going to miss that SO MUCH.  I keep telling myself if I make it the first month, I can make it another 2 1/2 months (and then go home for break) and then I can make it another 4 months until the summer, and then I can make it through the next year and get my degree and then come back home if I wish (and if God wills).  I’m looking forward to my classes and I’m sure that I will enjoy them when I get there. I’m looking forward to sharing my apartment with 3 other super cool girls, and I’m sure it will be good when I get there.  I’m not looking forward to leaving my mom, but I know God is and will continue to be good when I get out there.  I was thinking about it and wondering if Jesus ever felt homesick.  Like ya .. maybe when He was a child and was away from His mom, but I mean homesick because He left heaven and the Father.  I think my communication with my mom will be like His communication with God, and I hope that my communication with God will be like Jesus’ as well.  I need to remember that my Father is my life-line … He is the perfect comforter … He is what can get me through.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anon4him
    Jul 19, 2008 @ 22:39:36

    I know what you mean about leaving your mom. I’m pretty close to my whole family and they’ve always been there for me. The longest I’ve been away from them was for 2 weeks for Spring Training. If I make it to Cedarville for school this fall, I’ll be gone for at least a month before visiting back home. Hopefully I can handle it without getting too homesick. Good luck with California! I’m sure you’re going to have a great time!

    Reply

  2. Shawn Bashor
    Jul 23, 2008 @ 20:35:46

    I hope all goes well with you. Sorry I haven’t kept in touch life is a whirlwind here too. Take care little buddy.

    Reply

Leave a comment