Broken

Lamentations 3:24-25 

 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,“therefore I will hope in him.”

 The Lord is good to those who wait for him,
to the soul who seeks him.

The Broken clock is a comfort 
It helps me sleep tonight 
Maybe it can stop tomorrow 
From stealing all my time 
And I am here still waiting 
Though I still have my doubts 
I am damaged at best 
Like you’ve already figured out 

I’m falling apart 
I’m barely breathing 
With a broken heart 
That’s still beating 
In the pain 
There is healing 
In your name 
I find meaning 
So I’m holding on (I’m holdin on)(I’m holdin on) 
I’m barely holding on to you 

The broken locks were a warning 
You got inside my head 
I tried my best to be guarded 
I’m an open book instead 
And I still see your reflection 
Inside of my eyes 
That are looking for purpose 
They’re still looking for life 

I’m falling apart 
I’m barely breathing 
With a broken heart 
That’s still beating 
In the pain (In the pain) 
Is there healing 
In your name 
I find meaning 
So I’m holding on (I’m still holdin on)(I’m holdin on) 
(I’m still holdin on) (I’m holdin on) 
I’m barely holding on to you 

I’m hanging on another day 
Just to see what, you will throw my way 
And I’m hanging on, to the words you say 
You said that I will, will be okay 
The broken light on the freeway 
Left me here alone 
I may have lost my way now 
But I haven’t forgotten my way home
 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anon4him
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:05:56

    That is quite a song!

    Reply

  2. thejambi
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:07:38

    Guess what one of my favorite parts of the Old Testament is?

    Reply

  3. alymc
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:09:55

    Zach, A crazy guess with no foundation at all …. Lamentations?

    Reply

  4. thejambi
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:11:40

    Lamentations 3, specifically, is what I was thinking, you goon.

    Reply

  5. thejambi
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:14:27

    So, after hearing the whole song.. I think I like it 🙂

    Reply

  6. alymc
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:23:42

    I know I like it. I am a big fan of Lifehouse.
    Even though I knew most of their songs I think perhaps SGRwebster introduced me to this song. 🙂

    Mr. Webster, you will have to keep me updated on the new discoveries next year … I was brought to some great songs this past year thanks to you.

    Reply

  7. thejambi
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:26:19

    You silly little girl.

    Reply

  8. alymc
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:28:12

    Hey … not little .. remember …
    I’ll stop editing your comments now …
    Zach really didn’t call me a goon, everyone .

    Reply

  9. alymc
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:29:03

    and stop using my blog as a chat session

    Reply

  10. thejambi
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:30:09

    And you’re not really a little girl.

    The truth is out.

    And she’s not silly, either. Especially in a bad way.

    And.. ok.. but chatting here is fun, is it not?

    Reply

  11. alymc
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 00:35:11

    And, Anon, I’m sorry … in my levity I inadvertently ignored your comment … was there a certain part of the song that hit you the most?

    I’ll let in on the part that hit me in a bit…

    Reply

  12. anon4him
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 11:51:57

    Verse 2 and the chorus are really what hit me pretty hard. From the verse, the part that says “I tried my best to be guarded, but I’m an open book instead” really applies to me. In the chorus, well, the whole thing could have been written about me. If it weren’t for God, I definitely wouldn’t be someone you’d want to meet. Either I’d be a mess on the pavement next to some ridiculously tall building or I’d be so far separated from morality that I’d make politicians look good. Recently I’ve just been trying to hold on, and I thank God that he’s holding onto me more than I’m holding onto Him. God is giving me the strength to get beyond that point of barely holding on though, so that my life can be more of a testimony to Him.

    Reply

  13. anon4him
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 21:24:48

    so, what was the part that “hit [you] in a bit” ?

    Reply

  14. alymc
    Jun 16, 2008 @ 23:07:53

    Wow, I have not been around the “press” much lately …. I have a new post I want to write … I need to do that tomorrow…
    But to answer your question and respond as I said I would….

    Well for one: “in your name, I find meaning” … I can look for meaning in other things or people and just won’t find it.

    And the other: “I’m hanging on another day
    Just to see what, you will throw my way
    And I’m hanging on, to the words you say
    You said that I will, will be okay” …..
    I know God’s got purpose for my life and that His promises are true and real … so I’m holding on 🙂

    Reply

  15. anon4him
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 12:24:44

    Cool! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

