Enough

I listened to a sermon (Click on “God as Father”) last night.  It was my first sermon by C.J. Mahaney (thank you Andrew).  It stirred my heart and fired me up HUGE (thank you God). 

I’ve mentioned before my attraction to the doctrine of adoption.  This sermon revisited that and blew up my previous perceptions.  There was a quote by Charles Spurgeon that I can’t find, but I wrote most of it down as best as I could.  It comes across better in the sermon, but in case you don’t have time to listen I’ll post it here:

  ** The heart is so corrupt naturally that love to God never did get there without God putting it there.  If you love God it is a fruit and not a root … it is the fruit of God’s love to you and did not get there by the force of any goodness in you… You may therefore conclude that God loves you if you love God. **

It was kind of cool because after the sermon was over I was just sitting there in amazement and silence .. didn’t move .. and then music started to play and I thought it was connected to the sermon .. but it wasn’t.  It was the nest song on my iTunes list.  It just so happened to be Chris Tomlin Your Grace is Enough.  It was the perfect ending.  So, if you do listen to the sermon, perhaps you will find it appropriate to listen to that song afterwards. And then maybe Amazing Grace (my chains are gone)em> by Chris Tomlin, and then maybe Hosanna by Christy Nockles from the new Passion cd.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew Jacobson
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 23:36:54

    Yeah this is a great sermon and will awaken affections for God, I highly recommend it.

    Reply

  2. Nick Geisen
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 01:35:57

    Ok, so now I got a few people telling me to check out CJ Mahaney so I will do that. I don’t know about you but I believe that God sometimes controls the shuffle mode on my iPod (relating to the song that came on after the sermon for you)… He knows what perfect song will go with what you are going through and those experiences are pretty cool. Speaking of grace… there’s this song done by the Vineyard Music Group that has been rocking my socks off… it’s called “Saving Grace” and I wish I could post it but there are no youtube videos of it yet. “Grace, sweet grace. Though from You I have fallen so far away, but pour on me your shower of grace.” I will definitely have to share that with you sometime.

    Reply

  3. thejambi
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 00:27:06

    Hopefully I will have some time to listen to that sermon soon. This is definitely good stuff to be thinking about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

