I’m Freaking Out

I thought I would write all three of my college essays today …. I was wrong.  I don’t know what my deal is, but I cannot seem to organize my thoughts on paper very well.  I finished one, but I am not happy with it at all.  I don’t think it accurately reflects my heart, but I just don’t know how to get it that way.  I need help, badly, and I wanted to send everything in this weekend, but now I have musical too.. and I am just freaking out.

Well, despite that, I found a good song.  Take a listen …

Matt Nathanson- “Car Crash”

I’m wide awake and so alive
Ringing like a bell
Tell me this is paradise
And not someplace I fell
‘Cause I keep on fallin’ down

I wanna feel the car crash
I wanna feel the capsize
I wanna feel the bomb drop, the earth stop
‘Til I’m satisfied
I wanna feel the car crash
‘Cause I’m dyin’ on the inside
I wanna let go and know
That I’ll be alright, alright

Just push me ’til I have to fly
I’ve shed my skin, my scars
Take me deep out past the lights
Where nothing dims these stars
Nothing dims these stars

I wanna feel the car crash
I wanna feel the capsize
I wanna feel the bomb drop, the earth stop
‘Til I’m satisfied
I wanna feel the car crash
‘Cause I’m dyin’ on the inside
I wanna let go and know
That I’ll be alright, alright

So right
It’s all wrong

I’m wide awake and so alive

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thejambi
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 18:02:11

    Honestly, I didn’t have to write an essay when I applied for college, so I don’t exactly know how you feel. But.. as far as I know, you should just be yourself in what you say. Try writing out the points you want to talk about.. Stuff like that.

    And that song was pretty good, but I’ve never heard of that guy before. I’ll check him out.

    Reply

  2. alymc
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 18:12:38

    I just feel like it all comes down to these 3 essays .. AHHH.

    Reply

  3. Nick Geisen
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 19:34:38

    Nothing’s going to stop God’s will. Take comfort in that and just do what you can. You could write the best essay ever seen by EBC… but if God’s will is for you to not go there then that’s what’s going to happen. Our God reigns over everything.

    Reply

  4. molly
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 22:58:51

    ditto to nick, but seriously, dont be nervous… they dont reject ANYONE…

    Reply

  5. alymc
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 23:30:02

    Very true, … I suppose now that that was said, I am just more frustrated with the fact that I cannot write them how I wish to. I usually don’t seem to have a problem with expressing myself through writing, but, this time, that’s not the case.

    I am so glad we have insiders, Molly. Lol
    Can’t wait to hear and see from you 😉

    Reply

  6. sgrwebster
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 00:06:14

    Great song & video, Alyssa.

    Happy to help with any of the writing stuff.

    Reply

  7. anon4him
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 00:44:11

    I’m sure you’ll do terrific on your essays!

    That’s the second song with the word “car” in it that I’ve listened to today. I suppose it’s not too uncommon… just random.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

