Typing This Hurts

Yes … typing hurts at the moment. Why? Because I decided to pick up my guitar again after not doing so for quite some time.  I’ve resolved to kind of re-teach myself.  I already know all of the basics (although I had to be refreshed on the tuning technique … long story there).  So here I go … working on re-callousing….. (?) my fingers.

The first song I’m just going to work on is “Our God Reigns” by Delirious , because It’s super easy ;).   Any other songs that are good get-back-into-playing-guitar songs?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nick Geisen
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 00:32:29

    Yay for guitar! It’s really fun once the fingers stop hurting. Try “How Great is Our God” or “Blessed Be Your Name” for an easy start. Try HGIOG in either G or A… and Blessed in A. Let me know how it goes 🙂

    Reply

  2. Alymc
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 00:37:20

    Eh .. I tried it before and it wasn’t so fun, because my teacher would only let me work on one song .. and that got really boring .. I think that’s why I stopped, if I remember correctly. (Also, something to do with the way the room smelled .. it made me sick).

    Reply

  3. anon4him
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 13:14:20

    My fingers are starting to re-callous too, but not from guitar. I just started softball again so I’m getting all kinds of blisters on my hands. Hopefully they’ll all just become callouses soon.

    I don’t know much for songs or guitar, but Aura Lee is fun to play and sounds good… doesn’t use any chords though (at least not the version that I’ve played)

    Reply

  4. Raquel TWG
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 16:50:56

    Ah I know your struggle. I started teaching myself with my dad’s nylon string guitar, and that was pretty painful at first. Then I borrowed my friend’s steel string, which was pretty much torture, and gave up on hers. And mine has steel strings but aren’t as bad as my friend’s guitar, and my fingers are all nice and calloused now (:

    Now I have about 20 suggestions for easy songs that you may know, but I won’t tell you all of them just now. Haha.
    – Signature of Divine is a good/easy one.
    – Cannons is super easy
    – Jesus Lord of Heaven is also really easy.

    Reply

  5. thejambi
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 18:57:54

    I gave you a few ideas already.. I still think All in All was one of the easiest when I played with the Cru band. Another fun easy one was… That song by Fusebox.. Every Move I Make. If I remember correctly, that was a fun song to play, and it was easy, too.

    Reply

  6. molly
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 13:54:31

    hey lol no guitar suggestions from me but i just wanted to tell u that i just got back from ebc and it is INCREDIBLE!!! lol i almost wish i was going straight there this fall but not quite… the people were ridiculously nice (haha i met ur andrew!) and the weather was glorious and i def. got the “i need to go here feeling!” so all in all its brilliant… we took lotsa pics and ill fill u in more @ school but just wanted to tell u its fabulous!!! = )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

