Existence

After today I have a lot on my heart, and quite a bit more on my mind.  First, I’ll start with a little something I have been thinking about from Don’t Waste Your Life (my thanks to Mr. Webster).  John Piper was talking about the impact that C.S. Lewis had on his life.  He said: “He helped me to see what is there in the world-things, that, if we didn’t have, we would pay a million dollars to have, but having them, ignore.  He made me more alive to beauty.  He put my soul on notice that there are daily wonders that will waken worship if I open my eyes.” 

This, then, makes me think about what was spoken about in chapel today, which actually made me think of yet another thing …  a sermon by Francis Chan (yet again).  In “I’m in love – Part 5”, Francis talks about 1 Timothy 6:15-16: 15 which he will display at the proper time—he who is the blessed and only Sovereign, the King of kings and Lord of lords, 16 who alone has immortality, who dwells in unapproachable light, whom no one has ever seen or can see. To him be honor and eternal dominion. Amen.God is the only being who possesses the quality of deathlessness.  Everything, including you and I, is in existence only because God is allowing it to be. This unapproachable light, in which God dwells, is so much greater than that of the sun, which is 93 million miles from earth, and yet, we can not look at.  God created the sun, this thing that would give a massive headache, not to mention eye damage if we look at it, so how much more awesome must this light of God be!?  This God is giving you and I our very existence and is enabling us to think of Him.  I don’t know about you, but I cannot think about those things, and not stand in awe of God.  I feel like the fact that my life here on earth could be over at any moment, gives an occasion to worship.  It makes me look harder at those things I forget about daily, and brings them back to their ultimate purpose … to waken worship.Here are some things that I pass over a lot ..  what are some you are accustomed to pass over?       Frost on the grass in the morning.

    Moss

 

Bees (this is my picture 😉 )

  New buds on trees (also my picture 😉 )

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anon4him
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 00:49:27

    Wow! That’s a nice shot of the bee! And yeah… I miss the small things a lot, and everything he’s created is so beautiful and amazing.

    Reply

  2. thejambi
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 18:40:31

    I wonder if Raquel would pay a million dollars to see frost on the grass in the morning, lol.

    And I have to admit, I did like the part where he talks about Lewis in that book. Thanks for reminding me.. I should try and read that again..

    Reply

  3. thejambi
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 18:41:16

    Oh, and I like the picture of the bud on the tree, I think.

    Reply

  4. Raquel TWG
    Jan 11, 2008 @ 20:03:04

    Nah I would only pay 20!
    But this post is very true (:

    And I looove your pictures.

    Reply

  5. sgrwebster
    Jan 12, 2008 @ 10:15:10

    You are welcome, Alyssa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

