You Jonah

I found this today in Let the Nations Be Glad by John Piper.  It is, I believe, only part of a poem, but I couldn’t find the complete poem.  If you know where I can find the completed poem, I would be delighted to know.  It is called You Jonah by Thomas Carlisle.

And Jonah stalked
to his shaded seat
and waited for God
to come around
to his way of thinking.
And God is still waiting for a host of Jonahs
in their comfortable houses
to come around
to His way of loving.

May I not be like Jonah.. may I be willing to go wherever and to whomever He calls me.  May my compassion for people not be detached from passion for the glory of God! When all our hopes have given way we can take comfort in the fact that the infinite God is committed to His glory! 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thejambi
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 21:42:08

    The church I attend here when I am at school went through the book of Jonah last year. It was a good study, as I have never done it before. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Reply

  2. sgrwebster
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 23:18:02

    Great stuff, Alyssa.

    The book is actually a collection of poems.

    Here are a few more:

    The generosity of God
    Displeased Jonah exceedingly
    And he slashed with angry prayer
    At the graciousness of the Almighty.
    “I told You so,” he screamed.
    “I knew what You would do,
    You dirty Forgiver.
    You bless Your enemies
    And show kindness to those
    Who despitefully use You.
    I would rather die
    Than live in a world
    With a God like You.
    And don’t try to forgive me either.”

    “Reprimand to a Naïve Deity.”

    I will not advertise
    This crazy scheme
    Of Yours.

    God, what a farce
    That men should sin and find
    Escape.

    I mean, of course,
    Not me
    But all our mutual

    Antagonists.
    Dear God, kind God, don’t listen
    To THEIR prayers.

    “Indiscretion.”

    I do not hate You, God.
    Please understand.
    You are OK, A-One,
    The Very Best,
    Second to none I know,
    Great and beyond
    My criticism so
    I say Amen
    To You and all Your good
    Intentions — but
    I might be right about
    Your indiscretion in
    Forgiving folks
    Gladly and shamelessly
    Upon the least
    Evidence of regret.
    I think
    You carry love too far.

    God changed His mind
    Because they had changed
    Their hearts.
    He repented
    Because they repented.
    That is the way
    We word it
    Sometimes.
    But always
    He is limited
    Only by
    His limitless love.

    Reply

  3. Nick Geisen
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 01:37:23

    Those poems are good. I really like the other ones posted above by sgrwebster. They could be a great foundation for a song (if they aren’t already). Thanks for posting this.

    Reply

  4. anon4him
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 03:12:07

    The story of Jonah is a good reminder of God’s patience and persistance. When Jonah deliberately disobeyed God and tried to run, God could have just done away with Jonah and got another prophet to do the job, but God saved Jonah from the storm and had him carry out his will. If God’s got a plan for you, you might as well do it the first time! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

