Everything

I just came across this song … and love it.  I find it to be somewhat of a prayer to God.  This reminded me of Francis Chan’s sermon “I’m in love–part 3”.  He mentioned the dilemma of not loving God as much as you would like to.  So what do you do about it?  Do more?  Try harder?  We cannot muster up love for God out of ourselves.  We must ask God to see His love for us in a new light, that we would love Him more.  That is my prayer for this Christmas season.  That His love for me would be made new to my eyes. 

Ephesians 3:14-19

  Tim Hughes- “Everything”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nick Geisen
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 19:04:24

    Very interesting: “We cannot muster up love for God out of ourselves.” I don’t recall hearing it put that way before… it’s definitely something to think about. And an interesting view of the song… so often we hear the phrase “you are everything” and yes, God is everything… but in our little minds we don’t comprehend that enough… so it is necessary to say “be my everything.” “and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowlege…” wow that says it right there!

    Reply

  2. thejambi
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 19:13:31

    Although I wasn’t a fan of this song when I first heard it.. (the tune, pretty much).. It brings a tear to my eye when reading your post.. Don’t forget to add my name to the list when you pray that prayer.. It needs to be mine as well. Thanks very much for the post.

    Reply

  3. molly
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 22:15:54

    wow… amazing song… i really really liked embracing accusations but this just might have to take #1 fav. song from your blog… lol the inspiration didn’t hurt either, that was one of my fav. sermons… so when we hanging out?

    Reply

  4. thejambi
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 22:49:00

    Wow. This song definitely grew on me. I like it.

    Reply

  5. molly
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 23:13:29

    ditto it grows on u… lol im trying to study for english and just repeating this song and lead me… lol thx for the tip btw!

    Reply

  6. Alymc
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 23:16:53

    Molly-I cannot study for English. My mind is shot. Lol. No problem… Mr. Webster? Buy it from itunes? Lol… there are much cheaper ways for us poor people. Umm..as for the hanging out… Friday? Possibly?

    Zach~ So glad you like it 🙂 … prayer..for sure.

    Reply

  7. Alymc
    Dec 19, 2007 @ 23:19:05

    Haha… Molly… I just read the comment you put on Mr. Webster’s blog…just now…after I put poor people. Great minds ….

    Reply

  8. anon4him
    Dec 20, 2007 @ 14:39:58

    So I know this is just dumb, but the rhythm of the song reminded me of Coldplay’s “The Scientist.” Anyway, I love what Hughes is saying in this song, but it’s a little slow for my taste, I guess. When you’re rocking out to DC Talk’s old stuff it’s hard to slow down sometimes 😉

    Reply

  9. SGRWebster
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 10:52:23

    Psalm 9:18
    For the needy shall not always be forgotten,and the hope of the poor shall not perish forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

