10/40

Many have heard me using the term “10/40” a lot, whether in person, on facebook, or on AIM.  It is something that is constantly on my heart and mind, and more so as I learn and think more about my purpose in life.  I thought I would explain it briefly just as something to think about, and maybe pray about …. definitely pray about.

The numbers 10 and 40 refer to 10 degrees latitude north of the equator to 40 degrees latitude north of the equator.  This forms a little rectangle box over parts of North Africa, Asia, and the Middle East, known as the “10/40 window”.

Of the 55 least evangelized countries, 97% of their population lives within the 10/40 window. 95% of the people living in the 10/40 window are unevangelized.  85% living in the 10/40 window are the poorest of the world’s poor. 

“I will praise you among the nations, O Lord”  Psalm 18:49

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thejambi
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 00:48:07

    Definitely.

    Thanks for the picture, too. Wow.

    Reply

  2. anon4him
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 14:41:51

    wow… that is a lot of red…

    Reply

  3. carryme
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 21:58:21

    I remember, when I was younger, how that my parents would gather my brothers and me around the dinner table, and we’d pray for those within the 10/40 Window. And, as of next month, my parents are going off to be missionaries in it. How very cool! I don’t think any other block of the world holds my heart more closely than that chunk of earth. Maybe it was the long evenings and mornings praying for it. Maybe it’s my familial ties there, now. Maybe it’s that the world doesn’t see just how much God is moving in the hearts of the most horrifically dead place in the world.

    Great post.

    peace,
    nathan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

