Sound the Bugle Now

      There is a battle that needs to be fought … and I am not giving up.  Though many are saying I’m foolish, though I’m wounded because I’m not supported by those closest to me, though I’m tired from being harped on; there is only one voice I will listen to.

Bryan Adams “Sound the Bugle Now”

Sound the bugle now
Play it just for me
As the seasons change
Remember how I used to be
No I can’t go on
I can’t even start
I’ve got nothing left
Just an empty heart
I’m a soldier
Wounded, so I must give up the fight
There’s nothing more for me
Lead me away

Or leave me lying here

Sound the bugle now
Tell them I don’t care
There’s not a road I know
That leads to anywhere
Without a light, I fear that I will stumble in the dark
Lay right down
Decide not to go on

Then from on high
Somewhere in the distance
There’s a voice that calls
Remember who you are
If you lose yourself
Your courage soon will follow
So be strong tonight
Remember who you are

Yeah
You’re a soldier now
Fighting in a battle
To be free once more
Yeah, that’s worth fighting for                                        

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sgrwebster
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 21:10:28

    “the ballad of Boromir”

    you know, Alyssa, I was rocking the Bryan Adams ballads before you were born. (Oh man)

    Thanks for sharing that. Certainly his best work in some time.

    Reply

  2. alymc
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 23:47:14

    Wow, Mr. Webster. There have been a few times now that I’ve liked music that you have listened to before I was born. You must have really good taste in music 😉

    Reply

  3. sgrwebster
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 15:42:36

    I think it’s possible that YOU have good taste in music, Alyssa. I’m just stumbling around into stuff I like.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: To Get Out « A Thousand Words

Leave a Reply

