Holding Nothing Back

    I have been greatly intrigued by Phil Wickham’s new single “After Your Heart”.  He combines a great composition of music with fantastic lyrics (as usual). (virb.com/philwickham) .                                                                                                                     As I have been listening to it, I’ve been dissecting the song and all of the truth it holds.  There is one part that says “Let’s be the revolution that lives for holding nothing back.”  I have begun to wonder what that would look like. Not after I get out of highschool, but even now, when I feel as though there is not much I can give.  I often hold back.  I hold back with my gifts and talents.  I hold back when I want to reach out.  I hold back a lot in relationships.                                                                                                                                         I have a great friend who is trying to help me change that, and often I get mad or upset because I feel as though all he wants to do is change me, fix me, and then that will be it.  I have begun to pray about that situation because it happened again last night. I went to a place where I hardly knew anyone.  And once again, I held back.  And once again, he pushed me and told me that I needed to change.  It upset me. It upset me to the point that while I was there with all of those people I didn’t know, I wanted to cry.  All this to say, I wasted that time last night.  I want to be part of the revolution that holds nothing back.  So, if you see me holding back, (kindly) prod me not to.  I would also challenge everyone to live holding nothing back. Because that is what God desires.

Leave a Reply

